What You Need to Know if You Are Considering Signing Up with VBRO
By Michael Lehnert on August 17, 2016
Relatively recently, sites like VRBO have revolutionized how people travel. They also have made it easier for the average person to rent out their home without the need for professional assistance.
Are you considering renting your second home or condo during this fast-approaching Southwest Florida tourism season? If so, have you considered that you might be fined if you don’t have a license?
What You Need To Know
Florida law requires anyone in Florida renting a home to guests more than three times a year for stays which are less than 30 days to have a license. This means most of the people listing their homes on VRBO or otherwise advertising their house as available for rent to the public need to get a license from the DBPR- Division of Hotels and Restaurants.
The license fee to rent out a single family home is relatively inexpensive – approximately $250. A copy of DBPR’s fee schedule can be found here. However, while the cost of licensure is low, the fines for violating the law by not having a license, among other things, can be rather steep.
If you want to be ready to rent your house during this upcoming season, you can find the application for a vacation rental here, or, if that doesn’t apply to you, a list of all of the licenses can be found here.
Make sure you apply for your license early so you can make the most of this upcoming season.
Image Courtesy of Gail Lamarche
Reprinted by Permission